My Top 10 TV Shows of All Time – No. 7: Boardwalk Empire

To celebrate the return of Jack Bauer kicking ass in the newest season of 24 I decided to do my first list/countdown for this blog. Every day starting from No. 10 I’ll count down my top 10 shows of all time. Now this is my list, and believe me I know people will disagree with it, but I’ll try and justify my choices with a spoiler free summary of my thoughts and feelings.

7. Boardwalk Empire

2010-2014, 5 Seasons, HBO, Created by Terence Winter

HBO knows what I like and they hit another home run with the excellent Boardwalk Empire. The 1920’s were one of the most fascinating times in early 20th Century American history, from Prohibition to the excesses of the fashion, architecture and the lifestyle the era has provided a goldmine for writers and directors for years. Boardwalk Empire deals with the strengthening of organized crime due to the failed experiment that was the 18th amendment, Prohibition. Through the eyes of corrupt Atlantic City Treasurer Enoch ‘Nucky’ Thompson (based on real figure Enoch Johnson and played in a career defining role by Steve Buscemi) we see the risings of the New York, Chicago and other east coast cities crime organizations and figureheads that would mold the landscape for crime in the coming decades.

Exec Produced by Martin Scorsese (who also directed the pilot) the show continues the tradition laid down by The Sopranos and Deadwood of being a 12 episode movie per season. Sadly entering it’s final year Empire has brought the roaring twenties to life like no other and I will sorely miss checking in on the life of Nucky. The Show is brutal to the extreme and explores themes no one else really wants to touch but hang in there because you experience a universe that is in the peak of dramatic tellings.

Boardwalk Empire on Amazon

Leave a Reply

