My Top 10 TV Shows of All Time – No. 5: 24

To celebrate the return of Jack Bauer kicking ass in the newest season of 24 I decided to do my first list/countdown for this blog. Every day starting from No. 10 I’ll count down my top 10 shows of all time. Now this is my list, and believe me I know people will disagree with it, but I’ll try and justify my choices with a spoiler free summary of my thoughts and feelings.

5. 24

2001-Present, 9 Seasons, FOX, Created by Joel Surnow & Robert Cochran 

24 was like nothing we’d ever seen before. A show set in real time (including commercial breaks) that’s season lasted over an entire day and kept you coming back for more on every cliff hanger, it helped revitalize serialized network TV which had started to drag in the early 21st Century. Coming out at a time where America needed a hero like Jack Bauer, someone who will do anything for good in a not so clear cut world, the show’s popularity led it to be brought back from retirement in 2014 with the special 9th Season, Live Another Day currently airing on FOX.

24 is well known around the world and I’m sure you don’t need me rehashing the plot and premise (it’s much more fun to experience the twists and turns for yourself!) but for those who haven’t seen it, check out the trailer below. I adore 24 for it’s mostly top notch acting (Kiefer Sutherland gives one of the best and believable action hero performances you will ever see) it’s well staged action and it’s engaging plot. Even Season 6, which is generally known by fans as it’s weakest season, has episodes that will keep you hooked. 24 on a bad day is often better then the Network shlock that is put out and call’s itself an action genre show. 24 is currently only available to stream on Amazon Prime but I recommend picking up the complete season 1-8 DVD set, once you start you won’t be able to put it down!

24 on Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

